css overrides

Shopping cart

The Secret Library (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Secret Library By Kekla Magoon Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Travel through time with National Book Award Finalist Kekla Magoon in a page-turning fantasy adventure about family secrets and finding the courage to plot your own life story.

Since Grandpa died, Dally’s days are dull and restricted. She’s eleven and a half years old, and her exacting single mother is already preparing her to take over the family business. Starved for adventure and release, Dally rescues a mysterious envelope from her mother’s clutches, an envelope Grandpa had earmarked for her. The map she finds inside leads straight to an ancient vault, a library of secrets where each book is a portal to a precise moment in time. As Dally “checks out” adventure after adventure—including an exhilarating outing with pirates—she begins to dive deep into her family’s hidden history. Soon she’s visiting every day to escape the demands of the present. But the library has secrets of its own, intentions that would shape her life as surely as her mother’s meticulous plans. What will Dally choose? Equal parts mystery and adventure—with a biracial child puzzling out her identity alongside the legacy of the past—this masterful middle-grade fantasy rivets with crackling prose, playful plot twists, and timeless themes. A satisfying choice for fans of Kindred and When You Reach Me.

About the Author


Kekla Magoon is the renowned author of numerous fiction and nonfiction titles for young readers, including X: A Novel, cowritten with Ilyasah Shabazz, Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People, and The Season of Styx Malone. She has received the Margaret A. Edwards Award, an NAACP Image Award, a Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and four Coretta Scott King Honors, among others. Kekla Magoon lives in Montpelier, Vermont, and teaches at Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Praise For…


An engaging adventure, brimming with mysteries, chock-full of history, and full of twists you’ll never see coming. Once you step into The Secret Library, you’ll never want to leave.
—Christina Soontornvat, three-time Newbery Honoree


Product Details
ISBN: 9781536230888
ISBN-10: 153623088X
Publisher: Candlewick
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English