Shopping cart

Girls Can Kiss Now: Essays (Paperback)

Girls Can Kiss Now: Essays Cover Image
$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 30 7:03am
(HUM-)

Description


Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2022 by Vogue, BuzzFeed, Bustle, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Electric Lit, Thrillist, Glamour, CNN, and Shondaland

“Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable…every page twinkles with brilliance.” —Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.

Jill Gutowitz’s life—for better and worse—has always been on a collision course with pop culture. There’s the time the FBI showed up at her door because of something she tweeted about Game of Thrones. The pop songs that have been the soundtrack to the worst moments of her life. And of course, the pivotal day when Orange Is the New Black hit the airwaves and broke down the door to Jill’s own sexuality. In these honest examinations of identity, desire, and self-worth, Jill explores perhaps the most monumental cultural shift of our lifetimes: the mainstreaming of lesbian culture. Dusting off her own personal traumas and artifacts of her not-so-distant youth she examines how pop culture acts as a fun house mirror reflecting and refracting our values—always teaching, distracting, disappointing, and revealing us.

Girls Can Kiss Now is a fresh and intoxicating blend of personal stories, sharp observations, and laugh-out-loud humor. This timely collection of essays helps us make sense of our collective pop-culture past even as it points the way toward a joyous, uproarious, near—and very queer—future.

About the Author


Jill Gutowitz is a writer from New Jersey. Her writing has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Vulture, and more. She lives in Los Angeles with her partner and a very small cat. 

Praise For…


“Fresh and witty.” —Vogue

“Compulsively readable.” —The Skimm, 9 Can’t-Miss Books to Read This Spring

“Gutowitz maps the current lesbian canon with a lot of humor and more than a few wonderful, and wonderfully mortifying, personal anecdotes.” —Wired

“Comedy gold…If you were to mark every single funny thing in this book, you would mark the entire book.”—Isaac Fitzgerald, Today

“Ever-hilarious and insightful...Gutowitz explores how lesbianism went mainstream.” —Bustle, The Most Anticipated Books Of 2022

“Between every one-liner and guffaw, Gutowitz delivers not just herself, but universal truths everyone can relate to.” —USA Today

“[A] thrilling excavation of lesbian pop culture... a perfect combination of humor and sincerity, of wit, self-deprecation, and most importantly, self-love.” —Associated Press

“Hilarious…Girls Can Kiss Now is going to be one of the most important accessories of 2022.” —Glamour, Most Anticipated Books of 2022

"A laugh-out-loud look at the mainstreaming of queer culture...Gutowitz’s book is perhaps the definitive authority on what it means to be gay and a little too online.” —Harper's Bazaar, The Best, Buzziest New Books of 2022

“A hilarious, heartfelt eye-opener, helping readers laugh, get emotional, and, most importantly, consider how the world has wronged the lesbian community and the work that still needs to be done for true acceptance.” —Shondaland, The Best Books

“Super-funny, personal, honest, insightful and filled with pop culture references, Gutowitz’s essays on queer culture will leave you laughing out loud.” —CNN, 20 of the most anticipated new books

“One of the most anticipated queer releases of the year.” —BookRiot, 24 Must-Read LGBTQ Books Out in March

“Irreverent and insightful…[a] heartfelt celebration and defense of the importance of pop culture in helping queer people feel seen.” —Buzzfeed, 19 Hot LGBTQ+ Books From The First Half Of 2022

“An equal mix of illuminating analysis and laugh-out-loud anecdotes.” Thrillist, 27 Books We Can't Wait to Read This Winter

“Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable…every page twinkles with brilliance.” —Refinery29

“Hilarious…Jill Gutowitz explores how pop culture has shaped society's perception of lesbianism, how it's impacted her own life, and, ultimately, what we can expect from a very queer future that's in store for us.” —Marie Claire, 2022 Book Releases to Get Excited About

"Incisive and funny…Gutowitz blends candid reflections on the experience of being closeted with witty analysis on how the media affects one’s perception of the world. Fans of the personal essay will be eager to see what Gutowitz does next.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Shines with humor, vulnerability, and poignancy...formally inventive and searingly personal...A witty essay collection about pop culture and queerness.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Readers who recall where they were – because these iconic moments were lifechanging – when Orange is the New Black debuted or when paparazzi pictures of Lindsay Lohan and Samantha Ronson arguing were published will relish re-living their importance with Gutowitz." —Booklist

"Every single sentence glitters, quivers, and shakes with a kind of unhinged lesbian brilliance that is both wickedly funny and deeply self-aware. GIRLS CAN KISS NOW is not only the gayest book of essays I’ve ever read — it’s one of the best." Gabrielle Korn, author of Everybody (Else) is Perfect 

"Jill Gutowitz's brain is full of lightning bolts. I loved every word of this hilarious and heartfelt book." —Diablo Cody, award-winning screenwriter and author of Candy Girl 

“Snaps, crackles and pops with sharp one-liners and biting wit. But when Gutowitz deftly uses her encyclopedic knowledge of pop culture to interrogate her own personal history and relationship to her queerness, her prose reaches a level of depth and tenderness that left me reeling with emotion. 10/10. You must read this book if you're gay, human, or both.” —Ryan O'Connell, author of I'm Special and Just by Looking at Him

“Queer social media icon Jill Gutowitz weaves pop culture, relationships and humor together in a memorable, enjoyable collection…Lesbianism and shame intersect in an entertaining, thought-provoking way in these irreverent stories.” —GMA

You’ll certainly be entertained, but there is a certain level of tenderness and care that really makes this book shine.” —Buzzfeed


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982158507
ISBN-10: 1982158506
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: March 8th, 2022
Pages: 240
Language: English