Shopping cart

Graphic Novels (Reading is Resistance)

10% of sales from all books listed on this page will be donated to Reading is Resistance, to help sustain the work they do.

The Reading is Resistance Middle Reader Advisory Team cannot get enough of these stories!

Staff Pick Badge
Twins: A Graphic Novel (Twins #1) Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338236132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team Twins automatically get a BFF, but won't always get along. In TWINS by Varian Johnson, Maureen and Francine start middle school and become opponents in the school election. The result? They drift apart. This fun, relatable, and awesome book will maybe help you with friend or sibling problems. -Vera, Age 10

 


Staff Pick Badge
Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team  


Staff Pick Badge
Measuring Up Cover Image
By Lily LaMotte, Ann Xu (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062973863
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperAlley - October 27th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team MEASURING UP by Lily LaMotte mixes Top Chef Kids and Front Desk and is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and New Kid. With Cici trying to get her grandma enough money to come to America and trying to fit in at school, this heartwarming book will feed your love of baking, family, and friends. - Vera, Age 10

 


Staff Pick Badge
Displacement Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250193537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - August 18th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team Are you a fan of history? Are you a sci-fi and time travel fanatic? Well, DISPLACEMENT by Kiku Hughes might be for you! A girl named Kiku travels back in time to when her grandma got sent to a World War II Japanese Internment Camp. As Kiku travels back in time, you'll see the highs and the lows in life. -Vera, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team WHEN STARS ARE SCATTERED by VictoriaJamieson and Omar Mohamed is a true story full of a refugee in the 90s. This moving, fun, colorful yet sad book is sure to be your next favorite. -Char, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
Go with the Flow Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250143174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - January 14th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team GO WITH THE FLOW by Karen Schneemann and Lily Williams is around the most feminist thing you will ever encounter. With both good representation and true issues, you can learn to love both the characters and your feminine side. -Char, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
The Deep & Dark Blue Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316486019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team  


Staff Pick Badge
March: Book One Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781603093002
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 13th, 2013

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team MARCH, an extraordinary non-fiction book, follows the life of activist and author John Lewis. With a powerful storyline, hateable and loveable characters, and a taste of the Civil Rights movement, this book will knock you off your feet. -Char, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team NEW KID follows the life of Jordan, a new kid at a rich and fairly white school. He meets people of different personalities, feelings, and races. How will he get through this school year? -Char, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
Class Act Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062885500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team CLASS ACT, the 2nd book in the Jerry Craft series NEW KID, talks about even more problems, about race, and being yourself. This book following the lives of Jordan and Drew will really make you think about their struggles of being two kids of color in a white, rich school. - Vera, Age 10


Staff Pick Badge
Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

Reading is Resistance Youth Advisory Team SNAPDRAGON, written and illustrated by Kat Leyh, is truly an eye-catcher. It has a fun magical storyline with creative and colorful characters. -Char, Age 10